Winter blues in Gelderland

Gosh, I miss the sea-soaked air of The Hague. It’s not even winter yet. Should it be autumn blues instead?

The freakish 9 degree C cold of Arnhem was not exactly what I had in mind when moving to Arnhem, Gelderland.

I miss skipping on my toes to the portside anytime I want in Rotterdam. I miss the seaside filled with seashells and the hysterically dressed tourists Den Haag (The Hague). Not that I fancy being around tourists. So much happened while I was in the western side of the Netherlands that I can’t seem to move on. I just can’t get over the fact that I am on the other side of the country instead of grinding my peach off in The Hague at the press agency as planned.

Covid really upended everything, including that once in a lifetime chance. Sometimes I’m not sure if I should be the one complaining about how Covid turned everything upside down while there’re people risking their lives during a global pandemic or I should keep practicing gratitude that I have a roof over my head, grocery well-stocked and somebody who cares about me.

None of this feels real. Am I just ricocheting back and forth in some sort of alternate dimension where the flipside of the norm is the new norm?

Some cycling Saturday with bloem~

A delightful unexpected turn of event during the pandemic.

Leave a comment